Dot Gloves allow for easier use of the iPhone

by Ally

Sadly, it is getting late in the year which means for many of us that it’s about to get very cold.  Which also means you’re going to have to start bundling up, but that can cause some issues for those with iPhones.  If you decide to throw some kind of protection on your hands to keep them warm it will end up making it hard to punch anything into your phone.  That is unless you decided to opt for fingerless gloves, but those aren’t quite as warm.   Of course, that wouldn’t be too bad in some areas, but those of us that get bad winters would end up having frozen fingers.  Well these Dot Gloves are designed specifically for situations like that.

They may look like silly gloves with rubber tips, but those rubber tips make for entering things on your phone much easier.  If you only type with specific fingers you can have the dots placed on those fingers only.  They are sold in either knit or ragg wool, the ragg wool is said to be a lot warmer but still soft.  The knit gloves however, come in more colors and are cheaper.  The knit are being sold for $10 and the ragg wool for $15 from Dot Gloves.

Source: GeekyGadgets

14 reviews or comments

Picasso Says: September 16, 2008 at 9:39 am

Basically, you don’t need these “Dot” gloves, you can just glue using tacky glue or fabric glue and place a small rubber dot on YOUR favorite winter gloves and you’ve just created your very own custom “Dot” gloves ;) *winky-winky

Midweek Gadget Gallery » Coolest Gadgets Says: September 17, 2008 at 2:29 am

[…] Dot Gloves allow for easier use of the iPhone […]

Simon Says: September 17, 2008 at 5:47 am

This is so totally nerdy! Omfg ! :D They look pretty decent, too.

Unhappy Says: November 14, 2008 at 2:50 am

The price is off. It’s 5 bucks extra for either set of gloves. Also, they are back ordered like, for a month. And they don’t reply to emails. Cool gloves, but they need to step up their game.

Very unhappy Says: December 5, 2008 at 3:45 pm

I wish I had never read this review. I ordered these for my husband well over a month ago. I haven’t heard hide nor hair of the order, the gloves, the company or my 20 bucks since. They don’t reply to emails and I feel like an idiot for even buying this crap online.

very unhappy also! Says: December 9, 2008 at 10:06 am

Very Unappy I agree! I did the same thing, I want my money back!! They don’t even have a phone number to call. I feel it is a huge scam. Have you heard anything else about your order?

whybore Says: December 20, 2008 at 4:00 pm

To all the “unhappy”s, I read this in the “answers” part of the website:

“All orders placed before December 10 will be shipped out the week of December 15.”

I hope you all get your gloves soon!! (also noticed that you can contact them through e-mail or phone)

I plan to buy these in the near future when they are in stock :)!

Very unhappy Says: December 22, 2008 at 11:57 am

I ordered the gloves October 31st, didn’t hear from then at all until about a week ago (So what, second week of December?). Ironically, a few days before then they had given me a refund when I requested it because I was sick of waiting and sick of not getting a reply to my query emails regarding shipping.

I think anyone’s best bet is to either wait until these are sold in stores or just use fingerless gloves.

The North Face’s Etip Gloves » Coolest Gadgets Says: January 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

[…] have been two different types of gloves that were made to work with the iPhone.  Neither of them really looked […]

Laura Says: January 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!

I ordered these gloves, the size that comes does not correspond to the size you think your ordering. So I sent them back… After numerous emails, none of which were responded to, I finally got my money back nearly two weeks later and only after I hunted them merchant down through PayPal. I feel like if I hadn’t, this would have been a total scam.

If you’re waiting for a refund, contact them through PayPal. The product, the company and most of all, the customer service are horrible and not worth the time of money.

Justin Ward Says: December 13, 2010 at 6:33 pm

As far as I can tell Dots Gloves is either extremely horrible at customer service or is a complete scam. I have been trying to get in touch with them through email, phone and their order inquiry on their web page. No response to anything. The only activity I see from them is they regularly remove the complaints from their facebook page. This last weekend had about five people posting comments with the same issue I have had and today they have all been removed. Along with my ability to post comments on their facebook page. Luckily I paid paypal so I can at least get my money back.

Melissa Says: December 20, 2010 at 2:00 pm

I ordered a pair of gloves Dec. 6th and their website says it takes up to 7 business days to ship once the order is paid. Well I emailed them on the 17th, which was the 10th business day, and asked about the status of my package. Never received a tracking number or anything. Same day I filed a complaint with PayPal and received a full refund in the hour! I really wanted these in time for Christmas, but I will not tolerate poor customer service.

courtney f. Says: December 21, 2010 at 2:08 pm

DO NOT BUY THESE GLOVES – COMPANY IS A SCAM.

I first heard from Dots Gloves from an NY radio station Z100 on Dec. 7th. I ran to work and ordered them first thing for my brother for Christmas. After no response and 2 unanswered emails….

I emailed them today saying: “So I guess I’m never going to get this order?
It truly upsets me that your company is this way. You guys are really messed up!”

Their response: “Unfortunately your order has yet to be dispatched. We remain backordered 2-3 weeks from now. If this is unsatisfactory and you choose not to retain your order, just let us know and we will issue a full refund immediately. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.”

My response: “You were 2-3 weeks backordered 2-3 weeks ago. Maybe you should just tell people more like 6-8 weeks. Yes, please issue my refund immediately. I already told all my friends about your incredibly unsatisfactory customer service. It’s a shame, for such a great product – such a horrible company.”

Their response??????????
“Oh, that’s too bad. Your refund will be processed today.”

disappointed with Dots Says: January 18, 2011 at 7:50 am

As per everyone else’s review, I got appalling customer service from Dots, and apparently their entire set up is a scam.

Write a review or comment

You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.

Top Categories
Latest Posts
Subscribe to Newsletter